Keep Moving

Sometimes when life gets busy, it’s important to just keep moving.

I haven’t written a post in a while because there has been so much going on that I haven’t had the brain space. But it has all been good stuff! It is much easier to keep moving when we are doing something we love.

But even doing something we love, it is easy to get frustrated or depressed when times get busy. When I ask my colleagues in passing “how’s it going?” I am often greeted with grunting sounds or responses along the lines of “too much going on.” It is easy to fall into this mindset. We start to tell ourselves that life is so busy that we can’t possibly be happy. But a packed schedule is not always a bad thing!

When I’m backpacking, my schedule is in some ways completely booked with walking. What am I doing today? Walking from sunrise to sunset. What am I doing tomorrow? Still walking from sunrise to sunset. But it doesn’t feel that way because I mentally prepared and expect to be that active.

If we can just prepare to be active, we might end up happier in the long run.

However, even if we plan to be busy, sometimes things pop up that tip the scales from pleasantly busy to crazy. In these instances, the only option is to keep moving.

I don’t know how many times I have wandered down the wrong trail for a few miles and extended my day by what seems to be an impossible amount. But there is no option other than to keep moving despite how much my feet hurt.

Plans change when I am planning an event, preparing a recital, or working on an application. Sometimes the plans don’t change to my liking. But I just have to keep moving.

On the trail, if I stop moving, the consequences, depending on the situation, could include dehydration, starvation, or death. If I stop moving in my professional life, the consequences are not so dire but a failed project is still never fun.

This is all easier said than done. But the key to keeping moving is simply mindset. When hiking up a mountain, I can hate the mountain and get discouraged about my lack of progress or I can just put one foot in front of the other until I get up. When I am planning an event that keeps hitting road bumps, I can give up and complain or I can fix the problem and continue with the plans.

We always have a choice, to get frustrated and give up or to put our head down and just keep moving.

Leave a Reply

