Living Deliberately

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.
-Henry David Thoreau

I go to the woods and to music for the same reason.

It would be so easy to sit in my bed at home and watch netflix.  It would be equally easy to spend a vacation sitting on a beach somewhere, soaking up the sun, and eating at seafood restaurants for dinner.  And I do those things but I also spend some of my vacation time backpacking: pushing myself, experiencing the woods, and trying to “learn what it has to teach”.

It would also be easy to have some kind of 9-5 job (or so I tell myself frequently). But I chose the relative instability of music because I want to live deliberately.  I want to confront life in the way that Thoreau did at Walden Pond.  I don’t want to do something “for a living”, I just want to live.

The more I make music the more I realize that music isn’t my job, it is my life.  In the same way that, while backpacking, walking and camping become your entire existence, music has become who I am. It is (cheesy metaphor alert) the woods that surround and pervade my being.

If I were not involved in music and backpacking, I am certain I would “discover that I had not lived.”

Leave a Reply

