TGIM!

I have noticed that I am simultaneously exhausted and energized by making music.  It is a paradox that comes with pursuing one’s passion.  You pour your soul into something which is extremely tiring.  But you get all of that energy back through the joy of creating something that you love.

No matter how much time I spend practicing or writing music, at the end of the day I just want to play more or work more.  I find myself frustrated by the need to sleep and eat because I just want to work more.

I use the word “work” but it doesn’t feel like working.  It feels more like a hobby.  I am not sure the origin of this quote, but someone once told me to figure out what you do after your “work day” is over and to pursue that as your work.  That same person said he never understood that phrase “TGIF”; he said he looked forward to Monday as much as he did Friday because he loved the work he was doing.

I have reached a point in my career that I frequently lose track of what day of the week it is.  Every day is just a day to make more music.

Whether you are a musician or pursuit some other line of work, find a way to look forward to Monday as much as Friday.  When you lose track of what day it is because you are enjoying what you are doing, you’ll know you are on the right track!

Leave a Reply

